Fleur de Lis

©DPB Sport Horses, Louise O’Brien Photography, Radka preisler photography, Irish Eventing Times

Fleur de Lis is a 7years old Irish mare. Her mother is Gescha (Argentinus) and father Hold Up Premier. This talented bay mare loves Cross-country.  She was born in Ireland and is starting her career on the most beautiful fields of United Kingdom.

Tacante had the great pleasure to meet Fleur de Lis during her first visit to France at the Mondial du Lion d’Angers. We wanted to thank her rider and owner, Daniel Brown, who took time to talk with us after cross-country! 
Where does your name come from?

My previous owner called me Fleur de Lis, maybe as he loved France and my mother was Selle Français by Argentinus and my father is Hold Up Premier. But I am from Irish studbook, born in Ireland.

Where do you live? Can you describe your stables?

I live in Northern Ireland in the mountains, with a lot of big hills to go up and down and a lot of hacks. 

My stables, DPB Sport Horses, are nice and very comfortable! They are big, made of wood with large fluffy beds. It is very comfortable! 

How do you get on with your stable mates?
Once I get introduced to them and I get to know them, I am really pleasant to all the horses. I love the other horses but I am not so fond of humans!

What do you like most about your rider?
I think I like that he likes me … When I manage to do correctly what he’s asking me to do he always gives me hugs. And even when I don’t or I make mistakes he’s never hard on me. He allows me to learn and to progress. It is OK that I take time to learn. We get bad days but we carry on and eventually, it gets better!

What is your best skill? or What are your best attributes?
My best skill is probably my showjumping! I am very careful. I enjoy it. I have always enjoyed it actually! Even younger when my current owner bought me. I am really good at rolling and charging off whenever I’m eating. Oh and escaping! 😊

What is your worst flaw? What is the worst mischief you got into?

Last year, in Millstreet, my owner would find me running up and down the corridors of the stables, eating everyone else’s feed. I love escaping !

Whenever I’m being greased and groomed I like to buck and rear! I enjoy making mischief. I like to trap people in the corner in the stables. 

What is your guilty pleasure? Do you sometimes act like a diva? Do you have passing fancies?
I have a guilty pleasure that is to bite people… well I never really bite. But I pretend to bite!
I like to flirt with geldings and stallions, just like a Diva.

What is your favourite colour?
My cross-country colours: black and yellow. These are the official colors of my stables DPB Sport-Horses. When my rider is wearing black and yellow, I know I am going to cross-country! 

Which dream would you like to come true in your life?
I would love to stand in the arena with a big ribbon around my neck and a huge basket of apples. 

What makes you feel the happiest?
A bucket full of apples and to be left alone in a nice stable 🙂 Maybe showjumping and cross-country, but I have to think about it …  

What do you dislike most in the world?
People annoying me whenever I’m eating. Leave me alone. 
What has been your best memory?
Coming to France. And also last month when we came third at Millstreet. We got to go in and show off a little bit. 
Which frame of mind are you in at the moment?
Quite happy with myself, had my dinner and enjoying a good peaceful moment.
Do you have a life motto you would like to share with us?
Don’t share food!  
How can we keep up to date with your news?
You can keep up with all my news on my stable facebook page: SPB Sport Horses  

Discover other eventing personnalities: Vendredi Biats or Maggie May

By Gwenaelle Delyot

Leave a Reply

will not be published

 

CUSTOMISE YOUR TACANTE SADDLE CLOTH!

More information